White Teeth Teens – Appearance vs Reality in Dentistry

Exams are finally over, phew! I apologize for the lack of new posts. Been studying and preparing for summer classes and taking it easy and put on the Lordes album.

Lordes album - Pure Heroine

While subconsciously listening to the album one song on the track really woke me up and got me to listen.
The track:
 

White Teeth Teens – Lordes 

To summarize, the song basically uses the phrase “white teeth teens” to denote the popular in crowd in society. The whole substance versus reality comparison gets weighed in the song. Bringing dental hygiene in as the forefront of her focus to weigh the appearance of perfection against hidden substance.

Appearance vs Reality of Dental Hygiene

I remember when I was in middle school. I had never really focused too much on appearances when I was younger. I had always heard about the commercials about “getting whiter teeth” for a “perfect smile” but never really fell for it. That was until one of my class mates who roamed in my social circle had their teeth whitened and after the procedure proceeded to tell everyone in our group that our “teeth were so stained.” Being young and easily influenced I immediately stopped smiling for months and began to feel very self-conscious. It’s crazy how youth “popularity” is so focused on appearances and how the shade of the person’s teeth has now become a new way to judge whether someone is beautiful or not. Now that I’ve matured and become a bit more self-assured I’m not as focused as I once one on appearances. Especially living up to the unfathomable standards that are only accomplishable through artificial means. Fact: Natural human teeth are not supposed to be 100% white. We’re human! We don’t have to have perfectly white teeth to be beautiful or to signify that we are healthy. A while back I decided to look into teeth whitening. Being someone who likes to look at all sides of the coin, I consulted a few professionals and was astounded to find out that people would rather spend their dental budget on getting their teeth to look healthy rather than actually being healthy. They would pass on taking care of developing teeth decay or getting a dental cleaning for their teeth to stay healthy and elect to spend their money on getting whiter teeth. I shake my head sometimes at society thinking how much we as a society spend on validation from our peers rather than investing in things that will help us grow. On the brightside, at least more attention is being paid to the dental area even if it’s not quite for the right reasons. And a round of applause for the young and talented Lordes who is letting teens and her listeners know that it’s okay not to be a “white teeth teen” but to be a naturally imperfect yet unique individual.

Leave a Reply

